Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default The science of pyramids?

I was just wondering precisely why using the pyramid method to honing is better? So far in my limited honing experience I've never used one, though, I have occasionally reverted back to a rougher stone. In my knife sharpening experience (though I'm not an expert) I've never used any techniques that resemble a pyramid either.
    So anyway, what advantages/disadvantages does using pyramids posses? What exactly is it doing different to the steel/edge?

The pyramid is IMO a method that enables the inexperiences honer to get to a good result without much knowledge about how the edge develops and what grit is needed at what stage. It thus forms a well-proven basis from which the beginner can build up his own knowledge about honing.

Furthermore, the alteration of grits helps to prevent a wire edge.

-Axel-

I second that.

X

Hones & Honing randydance062449's Avatar
    Blog Entries

The purpose of the Pyramid method is to provide a structure, a method, of honing that will allow a new person to obtain a shaving sharp edge. It has another goal of preventing the most common mistake, an overhoned edge, which is also referred to as a "wire edge". The method uses a slow and gradual approach to honing. It does require a bit of patience, persistence and practice but it will get you there.

The document in the files section needs to be expanded to differentiate between the different types of edges a person encounters such as, New razor, ebay special, edge refreshing and also mention needs to be made of the pressure to use at each stage.

I will have to get to that soon!
    Randolph Tuttle, a SRP Mentor for residents of Minnesota & western Wisconsin

Blog Entries