Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Default Advice on hones required

I'm new to straights and currently using a Wapi which came shave ready and I also have a small Dovo strop. I plan to get another strop with a canvas back and then use my existing strop with paste. This should take care of my stropping needs.

The advice I need is regarding hone selection. At some point I shall need to hone my Wapi and any future razors I acquire. In preparation of this I have bought a couple of older razors on e-bay with which I can learn the basics of honing. I have done some research and the forums here are great for newbies. On the basis that I shall need to hone razors in my rotation and perhaps a bit more work on any older straights I buy, which of the following would be my best option. For the purposes of this exercise lets ignore cost and focus on the right kit for the job.

Option 1
    Norton combination 4000/8000 stone. Appears to be really popular.

Option 2
    Norton combination 1000/4000 stone and a belgian yellow coticule. I believe this option would give me more width of honing possibilities, although I'm unclear as to how often the 1000 Norton would be of use.

Any advice, thoughts or comments welcomed.

I'd vote option #2, plus a coticule slurry stone. there's a guy that sells some small cheap ones on ebay, but the extra shipping might outweigh the savings of just buying it with the hone. http://www.theperfectedge.com/belgian.shtml

The coticule is a one stone touch up progression in and of itself. The slurry is about as aggressive as 6-8k, and the plain surface with just water can be up to 10k. So it is all you need to maintain razors.

The 1k/4k would be very versatile for restoring old worn blades, but wouldn't see much use after they are made shave worthy.
    Last edited by Russel Baldridge; 05-20-2008 at 01:46 AM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Russel Baldridge For This Useful Post:

Smalleyboy (05-19-2008)

Thanks for the info Russell.